Moo Do Philosophy - The Right Mindfulness

Wed, 07/15/2009 - 2:00am — Grandmaster

The Right Mindfulness – This area covers our Moo Do Philosophy. It includes the rules and regulations of the dojang, the 10 attitudinal requirements or articles of faith, the 7 tenets, the 8 Key Concepts, and the 13 influences or postures also known as the Sip Sam Seh.

13 Basic Movements/postures of Tang Soo Do - Sip Sam Seh

Tang Soo Do is founded upon a basis of the Sip Sam Seh. Sip Sam Seh is not only the basic foundation of Tang Soo Do but truly of all martial arts. It consists of 2 meanings, "Pal-Gwe" which is the 8 directions of the universe (North, South, East, West, Northeast, Southeast, Northwest, Southwest) and "Oe-Heng" which is the 5 essential elements of the universe (Fire, Water, Wood, Metal and Earth).
The Pal Gwe are also broken down into external and internal areas.  A description of the Pal Gwe is below:
-Direction - Name – Movement
1.       North - Ahn - Back
2.       South - Jae - Front
3.       East - Bong - Left
4.       West - Ryou - Right
5.       Northeast - Chae - Back Left
6.       Northwest - Ryoul - Back Right
7.       Southeast - Joo - Front Left
8.       Southwest - Koh - Front Right
As in zodiac symbols, these symbolic directions along with the elements have profound implications and definitions in Tang Soo Do philosophy. Basically one can describe "Pal-Gwe" as the 8 tactical movements that are in harmony with the directions of the universe.
Defending, Deflecting, and absorbing, pressure points, application of wristlocks, pushing etc are located in the South, North, West and East respectively, hence are named the four directions or Ssa Cheng. The act of pulling, disrupting concentration, and balance, throwing, striking with punches, elbows, knees, or kicks are in the Southeast, Northwest, Southwest and Northeast respectively, so these are called the four comers or Ssa Yu
The "Oe-Heng" is described as the 5 strategic movements or energies that are in harmony with the elements of the universe. The O Heng concentrate around the leg and foot movements and the Pal-Gwe focus on the hand and upper body movements. 
O Heng or five elements (five strategic movements), are Gold (Metal), Wood, Water, Fire and Earth.  These five elements connect us to the surrounding nature that we come in contact with.  Oneness with nature and contact with natural surroundings is taught through the five requirements of Mental and Physical training.  A detailed description of the O Heng is as follows: 
·         Gold (Metal) – The only metal that does not corrode, rust or deteriorate.  It cannot be changed from one material to another, such as iron to steel.  Gold is therefore associated with the highest form of purity, incorruptibility, unchanging and of the highest value.  (Value of training, Wisdom)
·         Wood – The characteristic of wood is that it has strength, yet it can bend.  Strength and suppleness are its characteristics.  (Continuity in our training, Consistency)
·         Water – The characteristics of water are its’ ability to change from calm to stormy, from heavy (downpour) to light (steam).  It can be hard (ice) or flow and be soft.  Water adapts to the circumstances.  (Cooling, Refreshing, Relaxation)
·         Fire – The characteristic of fire is directed energy.  Concentration, determination, power, focus, come from concentration of Ki (energy);  Neh Gung and Shim Gung.  (Concentrated power, Purify, Heat)
·         Earth – Earth is “Um” manifested into “Yang;” the potential of becoming the existence.  The invisible energy becoming the visible energy.  Blooming, fertility, growth and development are its nature.  (Stability, Solid Stances, Earth Connection).  
Element - Name – Movement
1.       Gold - Ban - Circumspection
2.       Wood - Ko - Retrospection
3.       Water - Toi - Retreat
4.       Fire - Jin - Attack
5.       Earth - June - Stay Put
Below is the Song of the Sip Sam Seh:
Never neglect any of the Sip Sam Seh.
The source of the will is in the waist.
Pay attention to the slightest change from full to empty.
Let energy flow through the whole body continuously.
Stillness embodies motion, motion stillness.
Seek stillness in motion.
Surprising things will happen when you meet your opponent.
Give awareness and purpose to every movement.
When done correctly all will appear effortless.
At all times pay attention to the waist.
Relaxed clear awareness of abdomen, the energy can be activated.
When the base of the spine is erect, energy rises to the top of the head.
The body should be flexible.
Hold the head as if suspended from a string.
Keep alert and seek the meaning and purpose of your art.
Bent and stretched, open and closed, let nature take its course.
Beginners are guided by oral teaching.
Gradually one applies himself more and more.
Skill will take care of itself.
What is the main principle of the martial arts?
The mind is the primary actor and the body the secondary one.
What is the purpose and philosophy behind the martial arts?
Rejuvenation and prolonging of life beyond the normal span.
So an eternal spring.
Every word of this song has enormous value and importance.
Failing to follow this song attentively, you will sigh away your time
8 Key Concepts
The eight key concepts of Tang Soo Do and their literal translation:
1.       Yong Gi - Courage (Brave / Energy)
2.       Chung Shin Tong Il - Concentration (Clean, Clear / God / Govern / One)
3.       In Neh - Endurance (Endure / Patience)
4.       Chung Jik - Honesty (Right / Straight)
5.       Kyum Son - Humility (Humble)
6.       Him Cho Chung - Control of Power (Power / Manage / Right)
7.       Shin Chook - Tension and Relaxation (Relaxation, Expand / Tension, Contract)
8.       Wan Gup - Speed Control (Slow / Fast)
1.       Be loyal to one's country:  Sacrifice to fulfill your duty to your country and your people.  This is based on the spirit of Hwa Rang.
2.       Be obedient to one's parent and elders:  Children should be dutiful to their parents and parents should be charitable to their children.
3.       Be loving to one's husband or wife:  >From the mother's body develops man's happiness, as harmony and affection form love between the sexes.
4.       Be cooperative to your brothers:  Hold together with cooperation and concord.
5.       Be respectful to elders:  Protect the rights of the weak with courtesy and modesty.
6.       Be faithful to your teacher:  Learn the truth through practice of duty, loyalty, and affection.
7.       Be faithful to friends:  Honor friendship and be peaceful and happy with harmony and faith towards all mankind.
8.       Face combat only in justice and with honor:  Be able to distinguish between good and bad with fairness and rightfulness.
9.       Never retreat in battle:  Sacrifice for justice with capability and bravery.
10.   Always finish what you start:  Move to action with sureness and with hope.